Thursday, May 20, 2010

Five types of guru


I chanced upon the Mufti of Kelantan  on television recently. Kelantan is a state in northeast Malaysia. His name is Datuk Mohamad Shukri bin Mohamad.

He was speaking about five types of guru.
1. Mu'aleem
2. Mu'adib
3. Murashid
4. Murabbi
5. Mudarris

Mu'aleem is one who teaches you knowledge, any branches of knowledge.
Mu'adib is one who teaches you manners (adab).
Murashid is one who teaches you how to think smartly.
Murabbi is one who teaches you how to build a good character.
(This one, from what I know it is usually referred to the Sufis or gurus teaching tasawwuf, because tasawwuf is about shaping a good character and purifying one's heart.)
Mudarris is one who teaches a skill.

Teachers are people who make the earth prosper, he said.
No doubt about that! May Allah increase us in knowledge.
Rabbi zidni ilma.
May Allah bless all our gurus for being selfless, for their dedication
and for their love!

No comments:

Post a Comment